top of page


Looking to learn more?

Reach out to an Essex Mortgage Professional. 

The Federal Housing Administration helps purchasers realize their dreams of homeownership by offering more lenient lending guidelines

Front side of home with trees in the background.

Looking to learn more? Talk to an Essex Mortgage Professional. 


The Federal Housing Administration (FHA), part of the Housing and Urban Development (HUD), has been specifically designed to help borrowers purchase homes. Not all homebuyers can qualify for conventional home loans, so the FHA assists by offering loan programs with more flexible guidelines. FHA does not lend the money directly, but rather, they “directly endorse” some mortgage lenders to make loans on behalf of the program. Essex is one of those lenders.


This makes it easier for us to provide home loans to first-time homebuyers and homebuyers with less than perfect credit. While FHA loans are great for first-time homebuyers, they are open to everyone – purchase or refinance. Unlike Conventional loans, the down payment for an FHA loan may be as little as 3.5%. There are no income limitations because the FHA concentrates more on a borrower’s ability to repay the loan. FHA guidelines focus on your repayment history, job, income verification, and credit score. As the price of housing varies across the country, FHA loan amounts are determined by zip code.



  • You have a poor credit score but you have been working to correct old credit issues and debt repayment problems

  • You have had a bankruptcy or foreclosure in the past but you have been working to reestablish your credit standing 

  • You have limited cash resources and need a lower down payment or gift funds

bottom of page